SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Computer Setup Powerful Enough?

BlueAstra

I’m currently running the setup described below, which works perfectly at switch on and during alignment. I quite often get situations where I find that after a long imaging run (~2 hours) communications with the mount is lost. EQMOD reports ‘Error: Timeout’. I believe it may be due to EQMOD failing to contact the mount during image download from the camera due to the camera taking all the system resources (speculation since I’m not a computer expert).

My question is, do you think the computer is powerful enough to run these tasks, and if not what is the minimum specification I should be looking for? Or are people ruining a similar setup without problems, in which case it could be some setup/port assignment/other problem with the computer setup?

System:

ZBOX HD-1D11 (Atom D510 @ 1.66GHz, 2GB ram, 64GB SSD, XP operating system) running:

Direct USB to Hitec EQDIR module/EQ6

Direct USB to Shoestring FCUSB.

Direct USB to SX-H16 CCD camera.

Direct USB to Powered 7 port Hub running: Lodestar guide camera, SX Filter wheel, Gamepad.

Software:

Maxim DL v5.14 running SX-H16 camera, SX filter wheel, EQ6 mount via EQMOD/POTH hub (sometimes EQ6 direct), Gamepad

PHD running Lodestar guide camera

FocusPal running FCUSB focusser

TeamViewer remote desktop software

Another update.