SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Was I ripped off?

I just bought my first telescope, but on further reading it seems the one advertised isn't the one I got. It was from Gumtree, and the guy was in the final stage of moving house, so there's no way I can return this.

The guy claimed to know nothing about 'astrology' (his words). I have no experience buying telescopes, and didn't know what to look out for.

Here's the advert:

Was bought as a birthday gift for son but he has never mastered it and therefore rarely used.. If you love the idea of star gazing then you'll love this!

If bought new this would retail at Price: £262.96 (Including VAT at 20%)

This telescope comes with its own tripod, sky clock

The Techi piece

• Highest Practical Power (potential):x300

• Diameter of Primary Mirror: 150mm

• Telescope Focal Length: 900mm (f/5)

• Tube assembly available separately

• Supplied complete with 10mm & 25mm eyepieces

• 6x30 finderscope

• Parabolic Primary Mirror

• 0.5mm Ultra-Thin Secondary Mirror Supports

• EQ3-2 Deluxe Equatorial Mount

• Built in Polar Alignment Scope Holder

• Aluminium Tripod with Accessory Tray

• 33% more Light Gathering than 130mm

• Tube rings and dovetail mounting bar

Come and get it!

Here's what I got:

SkyWatcher Explorer 130

http://firstlightoptics.com/proddetail.php?prod=SW_explorer_130&cat=150

I paid £99. It seems there's a similar model to what I got for £129 new:

Skywatcher Explorer 130 (922) - Best Price at Bristol Cameras