Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Absolute beginner - what can i expect

Hi

I have just joined the forum. As an absolute beginner I was wondering if any of you more experienced stargazers could offer some advice

I had a skywatcher 130pm telescope for Christmas ( this is my first scope) and it came with a 10mm and 25mm lens and a 2x barlow lens.

I was wondering what I can expect to see with this at best. Is it a good enough scope to see Saturn for example. Or do you think I need more accessories in order to view some of the more distant objects

Thanks in advance

Abbie:)

Welcome to SGL.

That scope is a good first scope. It will enable you to view most of the planets (certainly Venus, mars, Jupiter and Saturn).

You should be able to see the phases of Venus, the polar ice cap on Mars, the bands and some moons on Jupiter and the rings of Saturn.

It will also be OK on some of the brighter cluster and galaxies.

A good idea is to look in the sketching section of SGL - this is much closer to what you'll see through the scope then the lovely colorful images that people take!

Cheers

Ant

Hi Abbie and welcome to the forum. I wouldn't have thought you would have any problems seeing Saturn with this scope. My starter scope was a 4.5" Tal and the views of Saturn that scope gave me blew me away and got me hooked for life! Obviously the moon would be a good target, as would Jupiter, although Jupiter is past its best at the moment.

As far as deep space objects go, I couldn't really tell you, but I'm sure someone will be along soon who can :). I Imagine you would get good views of the larger and brighter DSO's such as the Orion Nebula (M42) and so on.

Hope this helps

I have the skywatcher heritage 130p you do get some good views, you can see the orion nebula (was very faint in my garden due to light pollution) havent had a chance to look at saturn yet but should hopefully have views tonight if the weather holds.

Welcome, good luck and enjoy