Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Skywatcher 150PL EQ3-2 need some advise.

Hello everybody :)

Recently I bought myself a telescope , I am a beginner in this field but I would like to use it for both DSO and Planetary if it's possible. If someone could answer my few questions it would make things more easy for me.

Lets start, my first one is can I set it up in my lounge instead of the garden ( still too cold for me outside ). I know I limit my view but the question is about mirror temperature, is it better to be outside or it doesn't matter.

I treated myself for start to a Antares Collimator, Polarscope, 7.5mm Skywatcher SP Plossl, 20mm Vixen NPL, 15mm William Optics Swan(backorder 2 weeks). Could you tell me if its a good buy or I am missing something.

My mount is not to stable as the 150PL is long but the biggest movement is where Dec. Lock Knob, is there a way to make it better.

I had a look few nights ago and the image was not to good with the standard 10mm and 25mm that came with the telescope but when insert the collimator I could see it wasn't right on the primary or secondary, couldn't adjust it because didn't have the key for secondary(is it little hexagon or what).

Really looking forward to some good weather and views after proper collimation.

Thanks

You don't really need a collimating tool for an f/8 scope (in fact IMHO you're better off without one), a simple peep sight made by drilling a 3mm hole in the middle of the bottom of an old 35mm film can will do.

can I set it up in my lounge instead of the garden ( still too cold for me outside ). I know I limit my view but the question is about mirror temperature, is it better to be outside or it doesn't matter.