SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

First Light - Bresser 10x50's

Hi All,

Well after 2 weeks of waiting I have finally just hit first light with my new binoculars!! Bresser 10x50's that I picked up from ebay for £22 including delivery. Here's my little report whilst I wait for the idiots that run the tennis court over the wall to turn off the floodlights! (No-one is even playing!!)

The Binoculars:

Well, what can I say, for £22 you cant complain at all! Im no expert when it comes to optics, but they seem to be well collimated and give really bright view of the sky (I did momentarily think that the collimation was out but then I realised I was looking through the glass of the window.. opening it magically fixed that! :)) Also Im not sure exactly what model they are but the leaflet that arrived in the box with them says they have BaK4 Prisms with fully coated objective lenses, and if I understand from what I have read then BaK4 gives a brighter image than BaK7 with night time viewing. They came with a carry case (Not the most sturdy but fine) A lens cleaning cloth and a wide neck strap and the obligatory lens caps for the eyepieces and objective lenses which all seem to fit well and dont drop off easily.. All in all for the money I'm fairly happy.. they seem to retail elsewhere for anything between £30 - £60.

The View Of The Sky!!