Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

CCDInspector Image Interpretation

Freff

I have recently collimated my MN190 and have since taken a CCDInspector image to help.

Unfortunately, I am unable to interpret the results.

Could someone have a look please and perhaps tell me if I have all in order. Many thanks

post-19789-133877538987_thumb.jpg

I watch this thread with interest, as I would love someone to be able to point to a link where the figures and images are explained in nice simple terms. Without that I found using it to be a little hit and miss. Anyone able to explain what figures you want to achieve for a good CCD image?

I'm no expert, but on the CCD Inspector help file, '3D curvature plot viewer' subject shows the meanings of the colours. In the OP's example it would appear that the central green area is more defocused than the outer blue area. Not sure about the curvature as that's not shown on the image, but it looks pretty flat.

David

There isn't a magical set of figures! Aspect ratio gives you a figure for the roundness of the stars and suggests less than 30% as being reasonable. Occassionally I get a perfect collimation but it is normally a few arc seconds off and is affected by issues such as camera tilt. Usually I am under 10 arc seconds. If I am getting subs with worse results have a good close look at my stars to see if I need to be concerned.

FWHM varies a lot depending on scope and seeing conditions.

The field flatness 3d pics give a very good visual impression. You have good field flatness. There is a gradation from dark blue to red. You are all in the blue and I think you can relax!