Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Difference between 130P & 150P visually?

Hi Fellow stargazers

I am very new to this game and am trying to decide on my first scope. I already have a thread running with a few questions to help me decide on my choice and some of you guys have been very helpful. I was all set to get the Sky watcher Reflector 130P EQ2 when it was suggested to me to look at the 150. I liked what I saw and being a typical bloke bigger is better etc.

Thing is what is the difference between the two when you look through the eyepiece? I understand that having a bigger mirror gives you more light capture hence seeing fainter more distant objects (am I right?) But is there really all that much difference between the two.

Being a complete novice I don't really know what to expect as have not looked through a scope like this before.On this forum along with the net in general you can find pictures taken with the 150 and 130 and they always look fantastic but I know these have been run though software and have long exposures etc.

So would a novice like me looking at Jupiter using the same magnification lens see much of a difference?

Same with a DSO say the (sorry I don't know the name) spiral galaxy, would I actually make out the spiral with the naked eye or would it just be a small faint smudge with no real detail

Ideally if anyone could steer me towards some photos taken as you see through the eyepiece so to speak, even better. Its something that I believe would help all us newbies to the hobby at least this way we do not get disappointed when we don't resolve Jupiter like some of the photos we see on here.

Budget is a big issue for me right now and this is why I ask. 130P with some extra lenses or a 150P with no extras for quite a while. I just can't decide. :)

Thanks for your time.

• Replies 36
  • Created
  • Last Reply