Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Buying a scope second hand

Hi,

I am new to scopes but that seems expensive for 114mm aperture. I have googled the make and I cant really find that much.

I am still in the process of choosing a scope myself. The rule seems to be that aperture is king so the bigger the better. I have ruled out 114mm long ago but you can get a skywatcher 114mm with a parabolic mirror for £119 with tripod and lenses, also 12 month guarantee.

How much is the one your looking at for sale for? and whats your budget.

Personally I am looking at the 130P EQ2 at £155, though members on here suggest that I go for the 150P as the aperture is bigger and it is a much better scope at £239

All these on FLO Reflectors

130mm will give you 30% more light gathering capability meaning you will be able to see much more. Planets and Deep Space Objects (DSO's)

If I where you I would consider a new Skywatcher or get to 50 posts and one months membership on this forum and you will be able to access the For sale section. I have been told that starter scopes are always on there as other members upgrade to better bigger kit.

hope this helps

thanks for the advice he's looking for £ 100 but says the scope is worth £ 300. I know that the Sky Watchers arent much more than this . The one thing that puts me off is the fact that I cant see anything about this on the net , I suppose it could have been badged differently and then discounted.

In 2 minds now about this TBH

Well, whatever he says it's not worth £300. I realise he's not asking that.

It's possible that this scope could be a short tube version that achieves

the 1000mm focal length with extra lenses in the focuser or next to the

secondary. It's easy to spot, as the tube will obviously much shorter than

the 1000mm would suggest. If it is, I'm sorry, but I do think I'd pay a bit more

for something new.

Best regards, Ed.

Take a small maglite with you.