Stargazers Lounge Uses Cookies

Like most websites, SGL uses cookies in order to deliver a secure, personalised service, to provide social media functions and to analyse our traffic. Continued use of SGL indicates your acceptance of our cookie policy.

sgl_imaging_challenge_banner_30_second_exp_2_winners.thumb.jpg.b5430b40547c40d344fd4493776ab99f.jpg

Herefordshire

Whole new world...

Hello there!

After weeks of research and taking advice from the lounge I took the plunge last night and ordered a SW Skyliner 150 Dob. I'm totally new to astronomy and have ignored all the advice about using binoculars for a while first (intended to, but as soon as i had an active interest, so did the clouds!) so i have no idea what to expect. I'm hoping to see Saturn's rings - think that will have the wow factor for me, but i'm also hoping this will be a lifelong and sustainable hobby.

I've ordered Phillip's stargazing 2011. Is this a good starting point for learning the night sky? It hasn't been dispatched yet so can cancel and order something more useful based on your advice..........

Hi there and welcome to SGL. As a relative newbee as well, I recommend Turn Left At Orion. Great intro for beginners.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Thanks IvanT. 'Turn left at Orion' has been mentioned quite a few times. Does it have star charts that will tell you what will be visible on a given night?

Hello there!

I'm hoping to see Saturn's rings - think that will have the wow factor for me,

Congratulations!

The explorer 150PL is pretty much the same scope and you can clearly see Saturn's rings, and even the Cassini Division. It's a great set of optics, that's for sure.

Thank you Parus. Really pleased to hear that! Spent so long changing my mind and deciding between goto mak and simple dob that in the end I just had to GET something, suck it and see. Hope I made the right choice.

Hello and welcome mate, congrats on the new purchase. I hope you get many years enjoyment out of it. :-)