Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Eyepieces to avoid for a SW 200p

RICHJ

Being a total novice I'm finding it hard as hard to choose eyepieces as I am the scope.

It seems there are advocates for pretty much all eyepieces available so I thought I'd attack the the question from a different angle.

Has anyone found any particular eyepieces to perform poorly with the above scope ?

I'd also appreciate any recomendations from anyone who owns this scope too :eek:

I'm finding the TMB Planetary II and BST Explorers attractive at their price , are they a worthwhile first upgrade from supplied ? or are there others for a little more that are better ?

Sorry to waffle , your help is much appreciated :rolleyes:

Assuming your scope is the EQ mounted F/5, I'd avoid:

- Skywatcher LER's (the ones that come in a set)

- Moonfish 30mm 80 degree eyepiece (and clones)

- The Revelation 5 element 2" wide fields

- Any Kellners and MA's

- The Meade QX 26mm 2"

I usa a 6mm TMB Planetary II and a 4mm TMB Clone in my 200P dob, both work very well when the seeing conditions are good :rolleyes:.

I also have the 5mm and a 18mm BST Explorers and they also work very well in the dob. All bought from Alan at Skys The Limit.

I recommend these eyepieces for the 200P without any hesitation at all! They are not embarrassed at all by the smattering of Televues I am lucky enough to have either!

Doc

One that Ive just tried in mine that is more or less useless is a 4mm no-name, bought of amazon for 13 quid!

I suppose second hand is a good way to go, but if your buying new, remember FLO is your friend!

Thanks Neilius thats one for the avoid list :rolleyes:

- Any Kellners and MA's

- The Meade QX 26mm 2"

Thanks jahmanson added to my list of unsuitable :rolleyes:

I usa a 6mm TMB Planetary II and a 4mm TMB Clone in my 200P dob, both work very well when the seeing conditions are good :rolleyes:.