Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Can anyone help me with my budget

Hi all , i have been trying to decide on a telescope to buy since the begining of january and have changed my mind more times than i care to remember. I have read many posts about different pieces of equipment i have been looking at all of which have split opinions on thier uses.

As a complete novice to astronomy my brain is near frazzled trying to take in all the advice i have read on lenses , barlows x2 x4 x5 , filters etc

I would be most grateful for comprehensive advice on what to buy within my budget and the expectations i have about my new hobby(if its even possible :rolleyes: )

Here goes , my budget currently stands at £500 and would like to be able to observe half decent images of mostly planets to begin with , but i think my stronger desire would be imaging , i understand there is a balance between the two. At the moment i am interested in the Skywatcher Explorer 130P SupaTrak AUTO

SW130PSupaTrakAUTO.jpg

If i am correct this equipment would suffice a beginner in both observing and imaging with webcam and stacking software but im still unsure of which lenses and filters to buy to basically get me going straight away

my apologies for such a long winded question and thank anyone who has the patience for reading in the first place :eek:

Hi, unfortunately its not quite as simple as a compromise on a budget of £500. imaging requires one set of parameters visual another. For 500 you can get a good visual set up. or you can get the mount to start you on your way to imaging. before deciding either way to spend your money try reading this Books - Making Every Photon Count - Steve Richards it will tell you all you need to know before ypu start imaging

Thank you Kris , this was actually one of the first scopes i looked at. do you know if the mount can be fitted with an auto trak system for imaging also ?