SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

TAL 100RS as a beginer scope/1st upgrade

Hi

As a newbie I have been looking around to upgrade from the 114 Newt we are currently using.

We are looking for a bit of an all rounder and have noticed that lots of people are VERY devoted to the Tal.

It strikes me that this could be a good move, especially looking at the size of the Newts and Dobs.

It also strikes me as this telescope is something that can go being used for a long time, growing with you in the hobby - if that makes sense.

It also seems to work well with different eyepieces of size and quality.

Or is it that those that like/love the Tal are just shouting the loudest? I dont mean that as an insult though.

Any advice would be gratefully recieved.

Cheers

Rich

I think most people with the Tal 100RS use it for imaging. I believe it will be quite limited for visual use due to the small(ish) aperture. It probably won't give as good visual as your current scope. However, I do not speak from experience just my own research into the MANY scope choices and the benefits and restrictions. I may of course be completely wrong.

Being the owner of a Tal 100R (see my sig), I find it a great alrounder.

Compared to my old Skywatcher evostar 120 (till it got knicked) the Tal 100 beats

the 120 evostar in every way, despite being a smaller lens.

Get super wide field results with my Vixen LVW 22mm

Use it only for visual work

Rich,

The Tal 100RS is a great lunar,planetary and double star scope.

In its price range there wont be many to match its lunar and planetary perfomance.

On DSO's it sill perfoms well for an F10,I have recently got back into astronomy and the Tal has provided some nice views of Orion neb,clusters and the brighter galaxies but you really need a 6-8" reflector for a marked improvement to the 114mm reflector on the DSO's.

Jon