Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Fast Telescope...? :s

i am no expert but generally speaking telescopes with a focal ratio of less than f/6-f/5 would be considered fast, i use a fast Reflector of f4.4 which gives a widefeild of veiw, the higher the ratio the smaller the feild of veiw is generally the the result for a given set of eyepeices etc.

perhaps other comments would give you a better idea.

Ray

To add to what Ray has said, and again, I'm no expert, to determine the focal ratio, divide the focal length by the aperture. So my ST120 has a focal length of 500mm and aperture of 120mm, so 500/120=f5.

Hope that helps a little.

Hi Gary,

"fast" telescopes can be important if you want to do some deep sky imaging. A fast telescope will need a lot less exposure time than a slow telescope.

If you have a fast F5 telescope, in theory it takes only a quarter of the time to take a photo that a slow F10 telescope takes.

I'm still fairly new to imaging but if I started again I would start with a fast scope. I tried with a slow F10 scope first and it was a lot harder, I needed longer for exposures, I had a narrower field of view so any inaccuracies in tracking the object during the exposure were more of a problem. Because the images were not exposed for long enough, I had more problems with noise, etc.

The idea of 'fast' and 'slow' originally came from photography. A lens with a focal ratio of less than f/4 was considered "fast" because it required less exposure time for the same photo as a "slower" f/8 or f/11 lens.

Telescopes can be thought of a being no more than giant, fancy large aperture lenses for the camera when we do astrophotography and so we also say "slow" and "fast" with regards to scopes.

Rule of Thumb: Less than f/5 = Fast.... f/6 - f/10 = mid-range.... over f/10 = Slow