Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Stuck between webcam and afocal!

virtualpilot45

I'm a newbie on quite a tight budget, around the £30 mark, and I've decided I want to spend it on some kind of imaging equipment. I think I've narrowed it down to a couple of 'gadgets'.

(My telescope is a Skywatcher Explorer 150P with a 25mm and 10mm EP and a 2x Barlow)

1. Phillips SPC880 webcam (flashed to SPC900)

Advantages: Good magnification, up to 250x with my 2x Barlow, easily controllable with my laptop, good results on planets

Disadvantages: Deep sky out of the question, may have limited use once I've photographed all the planets/moon.

2. Universal Digital Camera Adaptor

Advantages: My compact camera can do up to 60s exposures and I've previously taken decent planetary pictures with it just against the lens, held with a camera tripod.

Disadvantages: Can only get to 150x magnification when I have my 2x Barlow and 10mm EP in. So far the deep sky stuff hasn't looked that great, with M42 looking like a purple star. Also, I don't have a motor drive.

Here's some stuff I've taken afocally so far:

5440219670_b833e71eca.jpg

5401025612_b8764756a2_m.jpg

Venus

5395875931_af16abffb9.jpg

Jupiter

5397137525_8cc5b4038b.jpg

Saturn

:) Any advice on what I should buy?

I started out with afocal a few years ago, however, it was always a fiddle, and I reached the limit very quickly. Just got a SPC900NC, and have only had a quick play so far, but it already looks more practical that afocal. (also have a modded webcam for LX, but I need to sort out my alignment for that!).

Cheers

Alun

• 2 weeks later...

Hi Virtual, those pics are great and something i would like to do, im pondering what scope to get and the 150p is on the top of my list.

Are they the sizes of the objects from viewing or only from the cameras?