stargazine_ep44_banner.thumb.jpg.6153c4d39ed5a64b7d8af2d3d6061f61.jpg

Hi All,

First of all id like to say what a warm welcome we have had on this forum, so thankyou :)

We are complete novices and i have a couple of questions.

I am a little confused about what magnification eyepieces are and how to calculate it, my telescope is a celestron 80gtl (computerized version) it has a focal of 400mm. It came supplied with a 25mm and a 10mm eyepiece.

Capricorn suggested i purchased a 5mm eyepiece, what type should i buy and i presume it has to be a 1.25" fitting ??

Is the sun filter safe to use that was supplied, it fits over the "big end" lol !!! ??

what is the best eyepiece to use to view saturn and how clear will the image be ??

Sorry for all these questions but we really are so very new at this and i dont want my daughter to get bored with it as we did spend 125.00 on this telescope and it has captured my interest as well, be nice to have a common hobby :o

Thanks for any help

Hi RobbieW!

Let's take your questions one at a time.

Telescopes gather and focus light, eyepieces magnify the image and control how wide a field of view we see when we look through the scope. Most eyepieces supplied with scopes these days are 3-4 element designs that give a reasonable 40-50-degree apparent field of view.

Magnification is calculated by dividing the focal length of the telescope by the focal length of the eyepiece. This also means that the same eyepiece will give different magnifications on different scopes!

For you: 400mm scope / 25mm eyepiece = 16x magnification, your 10mm lens will give 40x. Instead of a 5mm, you might be happier with a 2x barlow lens - this will make the 25mm into a 12.5mm and the 10mm into a 5mm (two more magnifications for the price of one!) A moon filter might also be a wise purchase.