SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

DSLR or Mod my ToUCam?

blinky

The subject kinda says it all :) I should have a bit of dosh coming my way over the next couple of months and was originally going to buy a DSLR, hopefully a Canon but the Nikon ones look to be a bit cheaper. Then.....I remembered I have a ToUCam (Not used it for a couple of months 'cos I aint seen any stars for that long). How do the modded webcams compare to a DSLR? specifically in image quality and ease of use/focussing? I 'might' attempt the mod myself as I used to work in the electronics industry and am confident with a soldering iron etc just not sure I trust myself! I have borrowed a Coolpix 5700 and have been using it (Actaully once, still no bl00dy stars) with a 30mm EP and managed to get a decent shot but that was 'cos I could focus on the moon then swing the thing round :) I just dont want to spend 400quid for something that I could achieve myself with a little work and a soldering iron :lol:

into a very complicated area here Blinky , DSLR would be an alrounder for astro and normal use , limited for astro i always think unless you have fab gear for guiding etc for long exposures, i have always stated the best way for serious DSO imaging is the web cam way or a lower priced CCD camera, true you can mod it yourself many have , but there are so many factors with this imaging , if you are wanting it for entry into imaging then fine , but after a while you will realise , you need better , they to have their limits , cant be any more helpfull than that really , in this game its a gradually build up to serious gear , other wise you are held in a rut unable to progress , so i say , web cam , and learn the art of processing along the way , as this is just as important as taking the image .

Rog

:)

I'd do both :)

Problem is they are two different animals.

The Toucam is worth modding for very little cost(if you can do it yourself)