SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Planning?

Astro Imp

• Replies 27
  • Created
  • Last Reply

That's a very good question. I am a relative beginner and live in a light poluted area so I just try to grab what I can, sometimes I try to make a plan but really I am lucky if I manage one or two messiers. I guess it really depends on experience/light polution/equipment - I don't have goto so I can spend a night just trying to locate something that might be a sinch to someone more experienced.

I usually check Heavens Above once a week...

Apart from that: quite poor.....I go out and look up, if it's cloudy I go in the garage and tinker with the bike, if it's not I go in the garden and tinker with the scope.

But I'm going to be more systematic in future and try to make a target list in advance.

Mike

Following on from my previous post, I work like this. I identify what I want to see, given the time of year and my location (a recent example for me would be the ring nebula last year), then I do a bit of planning. I look at star chats, familiarise myself with the area of sky and contellation in question (In this case Lyra, quite an easy one), and orientate this with the rest of the sky. Then I already have a feel of what I'm looking for before I get behind the eyepiece.

I think it depends what you mean by 'planning' - planning in detail, finding a particular target or planning to do many targets - given you have the skill and the time :(

I have to admit, my planning is quite involved. Mainly because I am new to Astrophotography, so there is alot to remember. Also I am always learning the sky (not such a great memory) plus I don't have goto so it's all manual for me. And lastly because it gives me somthing to do when I am "working" lol

Here is a little example of a plan I made for November (it makes sense to me lol)

NGC7000 North American Nebula- telrad on 62eta 230* Rotation on camera

(next magnitude 3.7 one telrad left from Deneb)