Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

astrophotography

Hi Folks, my name is Trudie, I am very new to stargazing, however have always had an interest. With Xmas + a birthday I got a Celestron 130SLT and laptop. i would like to have a go at photography, whats the cheapest way to start?

We have 2 digital cameras (don't know if that helps or not).

I posted this question in the welcome page and got some replies,(very helpful). It was suggested I ask the question in this forum.

Seems to me I have an awful lot to learn!!!

Regards and Thanks

Trudie

Hi Trudie . i did send you a PM just outlining a few things on the scope , but the cheapest way ,opens a large can of worms , first off , what do you want to take , Moon ,Planets Star Clusters , or DSO,s deep sky objects, , if its just the moon to start with then A focal , holding the camera over the eyepeice can give you very pleasing results , no real extra cost for you there . if PLanets and closer images of the moon , then a web cam , like the Toucam pro 2 , this is a lovely camera giving super images , for DSOs ,well thats another story , a modded web cam , to allow long exposures is what you need, or a true ccd camera , DSLR are also good for most all images, but do require longer exposures to capture faint objects , they are ideal for the moon , and wide field imaging, but have to say a web cam is alot easier to use ,

Rog

Hi guys, we have a Minolta dimage S414, plus a Nikon coolpix 5700, I did get your PM thanks. Looking to start with easy to find things (Moon, saturn etc.) Someone has suggested a Logitek quickcam messenger!!! YES OR NO. Sorry really do not have a clue!

Folk tend to use the ToUcam cos of it's CCD chip which is better for astrostuff than the CMOS chip you get in other webcams like the Logitech Quickcam - there are probably other reasons too but I'll leave those to the experts. HTHS. The results from ToUcam users here are WELL cool 8)