Stargazers Lounge Uses Cookies

Like most websites, SGL uses cookies in order to deliver a secure, personalised service, to provide social media functions and to analyse our traffic. Continued use of SGL indicates your acceptance of our cookie policy.

sgl_imaging_challenge_celestial_motion.thumb.jpg.a9e9349c45f96ed7928eb32f1baf76ed.jpg

Sign in to follow this  
trudie

hi i'm very new to this stargazing but am totally hooked I need advice re astrop

I got a Celestron 130SLT for xmas, and would love to have a go ay photography, but do not know where to start. Can someone advice as to the best and (cheapest) way to proceed, nice to meet you all.

Hi Trudie,

Nice to have you on board, sorry i don't do photography but I'm quite sure some of the lovely folk here will put you on the right path, mind you- you will need to get some clear skies before you can even think about recording it!

Gary

Hi Phil and welcome to SGL.

Probably the cheapest way into astrophotography is to get your self a webcam

this is asuming you have a laptop to work it with.

Should be able to pick up a webcam for around the £40 mark laptops cost much more :)

This will get you started with Lunar and Planetary imaging.

If you don't want to go down the laptop route then you have 2 choices left

Film SLR photography and digital photography.

Let us know what your preference is and we will gladly give any help we can.

Hi Jamie (and Gary) pleased to meet you both, Gary I do have a laptop (also a present to go with the telescope). Can I view what I can see through the scope on the laptop? (As you can probably tell I don't know loads about computers either but I'm learning!!! My other half has 2 digital cameras but unsure as to there use for this.

SGL welcome from me too :lol: