Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Not sure which eyepiece to buy for Explorer 150p

mdevine

Hi Everyone,

I just bought a SW Explorer 150p after recently becoming fascinated with astronomy. I'm a complete noob apart from reading everyone's informative posts on this forum over the last 2 weeks.

I have looked at Jupiter for a few nights early last week when we had some clear skies. They were fantastic views especially compared to the tesco telescope I initially bought! I could see Jupiter's moons which was also a first. I was a little disapointed though as I could barely make out the cloud belts as Jupiter appeared quite small. I was using the 10mm eyepiece wiith the 2x barlow that come standard with this scope. This brings the magnification up to 150x.

I understand that this scope should be able to go up to 300x. This would mean a 5mm with 2x barlow would achieve this.

Would this be the right eyepiece to get? Or should I get a 3mm instead? Or am I completely off track?

Thanks for your advice in advance!

The maximum mags quoted are usually theoretical. With our usually turbulent

atmosphere limiting what can be clearly seen, 150x is much more realistic.

Jupiter is way past it's best just now, and will be lost in the sunset glow as

we get into spring. However, Saturn is coming into view at a more convenient

hour before long. Low in the SE late evening at the mo.

Loads of other objects to view with a nice 6" scope like yours.

Best regards, Ed.

I'd stick to 150x - 200x as Ed recommends - I rarely get to use 300x with my 10" scope. One of the 4mm TMB Planetary II eyepieces would do a good job for you - they cost around £40 each.

Thanks for your advice John.

I've had a search for places selling them and then came across threads comparing Paradigm's to TMB Planetary II. This hobby ties you up in knots with what to do and buy!

That matches my budget at least.

Any suggestions on whether to go for the former or latter eyepieces?