Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

There isn't much that I feel I need. A solid soul and the blood I bleed...

Hey all. I'm a binocular newbie and really enjoying it. However, I'm starting to find all the equipment discussion slightly alarming. Most people on here seem to (understandably) list their stuff as a badge of honour which for poor lost generation souls like myself, I am frankly finding a little off putting. It increasinly feels like there may be a glass ceiling beyond which I can take my interest no further. I'm wondering whether the "problem" might be solved by joining an astronomical club? Or perhaps I should stick to more affordable pastimes? What do you (very helpful) people think?

Thanks! :)

• Replies 75
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Some people are "equipment freaks" and rarely observe. Some people just use what they've got and are happy doing it. Whatever turns you on, really.

There are some things that really require serious investment to do properly - like long exposure imaging of deep sky objects. There are other serious observing programmes - variable stars - that you can do with nothing more than a small pair of binoculars (a tripod helps), a set of charts (free download), a notebook, a pencil and a red torch.

The reason I list my equipment is to give others a heads up to what I'm using when I ask for or give help. Certainally not a status badge.:)

I often read the posts of similar gear user as myself more than others. This gives me some idea of how their combinations work etc.

I think we all have a limit to how far we take things either financially or otherwise in our hobbies.

Joining a Astronomical club is certainly the way to advance, there is so much to learn from others.