Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Hi! Telescope advice needed for complete newbie!

Hiya!

I haven't got a massive budget, so unfortunately a telescope good enough to see deep into the universe is out of the question! However I'd LOVE to be able to take a look at Jupiter or Staurn! That would be amazing :)

Trouble is I have no idea where to start. I found a website selling them but it assumes the buyer knows what everything means!

So what I'm hoping for is a recommendation or two (please!) I'm not familiar with star gazing so would most likely need one of the "goto"'s that I've heard of?

Oh and if by any chance that telescope is around £200 that would also be awesome.

Many thanks for reading!

Lozzy

Hi,

There are a few good scopes out there that would fit your budget such as the Homepage - Skywatcher Explorer 130

However this is not GOTO but...Hunting targets down is part of the fun for me :)

Also the next model up although just a tad over your budget, would be a better scope.

Homepage - Skywatcher Explorer 150P EQ3-2 (bigger apature + much better mount)

These two usualy come highly recomended. They would also give you fairly good views of deep space objects! :)

Although this next one has GOTO, I would prefer one of the first two I mentioned, as to me they would be better value for money.

Startravel - Skywatcher Startravel 102 SynScan AZ GOTO

Feel free to ask as many questions as you like! :)

Thats what we are here for.

Michael

If you want an honest reply, I would say you are going to be hard pressed to get a scope that will show you objects and have GOTO. That's not such a bad thing really because there is no point in spending money on a system that positions the scope in a certain part of the sky, if your remaining budget can only provide for a small scope that can't show you what its pointing at.