Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Advice on EQ6 pro Synscan mount

mark RD

Im New to Goto and was hoping I could get some advice from those who use it. I got the pleasure of a couple of hours of clearish sky a couple of days ago, And so I got a few questions.

1 How important is it to be accurately pol aligned?

2 Does the time have to be set within the minute on the hand set, If so whats the best sorce for an accurate time?

3 is my longitude and latitude even right? (015.47'W 52.13N) post code is pe192dt

Im asking these questions as I did a three star setup, while setting up I got the stars I was setting up to within the finderscope FOV but after set up the objects I was went for on the pre programed tour was out by about 4 finderscope FOVs. I must have gone wrong somewhere ....

RD

As for lattitude I just googled my town name and lattitude.

I tryed that which is how I got what I put in to the hand set (015.47'W 52.13N) only the format on the hand set seems diffrent to all the results I got on the net ????

RD

Lo Rd

The format of the Lon and Lat are in decimal and if I remember right you need them in Deg , Min, Sec. There is a formula to convert it but the drink is clouding My mind at the moment.

Also are You putting the scope in the home position ( Roughly pointed at Polaris ) before You start Your alignment. A good cheat I have found is if the first star is somewhere close and the second isn't , undo the clutches and move the scope so it is in the field of view and then go on to the third star and do the same. This works for Version 2.05 but I am not sure on Version 3.xx.

Lo Rd

The format of the Lon and Lat are in decimal and if I remember right you need them in Deg , Min, Sec. There is a formula to convert it but the drink is clouding My mind at the moment.