Narrowband

Eyepiece question....

technofan

Here's a hypothetical question that I hope will help me to 'get it right' the first time around.....:)

If I bought an 80mm APO refractor and was allowed a Barlow plus 2 lenses only, what should I get??

Pre-requisits are for the best possible highest magnification moon images and another lens which experienced users feel is a 'must have'...

I don't want 'standard kit' quality but I'm looking for great optics without breaking the bank.

I would really appreciate a make and model, including the barlow (which must clearly be top quality too). This way I can look at the suggestions and figure out how much it will all cost.:confused:

I am an experienced amateur photographer but have no previous time with telescopes, in fact this will be my first!! Hence, I'd like to get it right....I've wasted lots of money on DSLR kit in the past (if only I'd known then what I know now) so I'm hoping to benefit from the 'pros' on the forum.

Thank you guys,

Pete.:(

Personally I might be be think of a Tele Vue Nagler 3mm-6mm zoom plus a 22mm Nagler Type 4 and a 13mm Tele Vue Ethos. That lot would cover low to high power pretty well. Rather pricey though at around a grand for the 3 items - but superb quality :)

Something to give ~120-140x magnification. An 80mm APO should take that without the image getting too poor.

As an APO tends to be around f/6 I would go for a wide angle 15-18mm.

Problem here is if the barlow is poor then what you see is poor. Also what barlow 2x, 3x, 5x ?

Something to give ~120-140x magnification. An 80mm APO should take that without the image getting too poor.

As an APO tends to be around f/6 I would go for a wide angle 15-18mm.

Problem here is if the barlow is poor then what you see is poor. Also what barlow 2x, 3x, 5x ?