Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

hi guys

ldavey

Just wanted to stop and say hi, and what a great lively forum this is, and also do the usual bugging, i hope you don't mind

Been wanting to get into astronomy for a long time, brought a telescope a few years ago but made the mistake of spending all my money on a piece of trash TASCO reflector scope which gives Rubbish images and broke before long so i have not ended up using tbh :)

I don't really have money spare but the temptation has been building up to buy another scope so i am going to anyway, i have little knowledge in finding stars and stuff but want to be able to see planets and some nebula etc, and hopefully take some images aswell in the future ( like most people here want too)

So i would like a little advice about this telescope i am looking at, i did a search on this forum and only found one thread about this scope, plus other searches on google have not really helped me much...

I have been looking at the CELESTRON NEXSTAR 130 SLT because it will help me get started quickly in finding the stars plus i can apparantly link it upto my laptop to control the scope... but what i really want to know is whats the build quality like ? ... and will it view enough objects out there to make the investment worth it ? .... i know that buying the 130 SLT that has this computer means i am paying for the privilege so they have to cut corners somewhere, but i don't want to end up with another piece of trash !!! £270 is alot to waste...

I don't mind comprimising a little to have the computer and be able to link to my laptop, but would like to here what you more experienced astronomy guys think about this scope ? will it make a good enough starter scope and take fairly decent photos ?

Thanks in advance, and will look forward in contributing to this forum when i get my scope and win best pic of the week award :lol:

Hope you all enjoyed your xmas and have a happy new year !