Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Hi, another newbie here

Chatham

OK first post and I am desperately avoiding asking the question 'what should I buy?' but it's definitely 'the elephant in the room'.

I thought I would get a telescope when I retired over 5 years ago but the light pollution here in Salisbury is awful, the Cathedral even has searchlights lighting up the sky :) so I decided against it but last year at a motorhome rally in the countryside I saw what could be achieved with a modest scope away from most light.

As we spent 100 days away last year that gives me plenty of scope (sorry) for observation.

So I've joined this forum and have read some guides and am now looking for a scope. I thought a 5" reflector on a motorised EQ mount. I think I should allocate a budget of £500 to include all the bits and bobs as well inc starchart software for my macbook.

Does all that sound realistic for a beginner?

• Replies 29
  • Created
  • Last Reply

hello....welcome. I guess it also depends what you "may" want to do with it in the future....I bouught a Dob first, and ever since Ive had a hankering for Astrophotography, so I guess I probably got it wrong...

Hi, welcome along to SGL.

That last recommendation (an 8" dobsonian) would definitely be worth you checking out. You'll get a lot for your money there.

I havent yet shelled out for a scope myself but time and time again, people here recommend these dobs scopes as a first investment.

Marko

Hi Chatham and welcome to the forum.