Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Patience is a virtue?

sarahb

Ok, so I was up and down more times in the night than a tarts knickers, looking for the tiniest gap in the clouds so that I could take my first look through my telescope. All I have managed to achieve is a sence of frustration and the need for a good sleep! I have been browsing this excellent site and surfing the net all morning looking for some information that will help me once a clear sky appears. I have taken some notes about the things that I think I must do/know/get/understand/save up for and wondered if you kind folks can tell me what I am missing for a complete novice.

• [li]must allow for 'cooling down'[/li]
    [li]set latitude[/li]
    [li]Buy planisphere[/li]
    [li]learn constellations[/li]
    [li]learn basic terminology[/li]

Cheers everyone :)

:lol: :lol:now i just love that intro , ehhehe Hi Sarah , welcome , yes loads of things to start with , guess its best to learn the sky first , then from that , decide what you want to do , carry on viewing , or to take images , , i,m sure there will be plenty of advice coming your way ,

Rog

:)

hi Sarah,

Try and persevere with your nighttime fores- unfortunately the weather is a cruel mistress/master and it toke me about 2 weeks to get any clear Sky's when i got my first scope. Suppose it gives you plenty of time to get down to the library/bookshop and get some reading done.

The most important thing to do is to get outside with a good map of the sky and learn to use your instrument, when you find your first planet and your first star cluster or deep space object (DSO) you will know why you're outside in the cold! good luck and hope Sky's clear for you/all of us soon.

Gary

Welcome Sarah,

Like learnig to drive, or a new language it takes time,but this is the place to be,