Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

now that winter is nearly gone

star_chaser

whats it like for viewing in the spring /sum/aut (im very new to this only had the scope 2 months) .as i know it gets dark later is the summer so less night time viewing also is a bit warmer.i guess im just looking at the clouds hoping things will get better .

so whats your best time of year for viewing .and why

star

• Replies 34
  • Created
  • Last Reply
now that winter is nearly gone

hooray!!!!! about time too. Not enjoyed this winter at all. Not a single solitary good night for the entire autumn/winter. Will certainly go down as one of the worst periods i can remember. Poor transparency and the worst seeing imaginable.

Roll on Spring :)

Warmer nights, Saturn in the evening sky. Some fantastic deepsky objects. Still plenty of dark sky time throughout March/April/May. Things get a bit dodgy around June, with minimal dark skies (for us in the South). But some good dark skies again by late July and superb through August. And the return of the Milkyway.

Spring is an improvement IMO. Clear skies after a day of showers are always good. The night time temperitures are still cold but not so servere that it takes a bit of the enjoyment out of the experience (which I find in winter).

I would say between Mid May and Mid July my scope more or less goes on vacation! On May 15th Sunset is around 9pm at my location (you can add a good hour and half on to that for true darknes because twilight lasts longer in the summer months). As for June, Forget Deep sky! I only ever do bright planet viewing and moon viewing. Also maybe the odd night of looking at double stars.

My fav month of them all is August, wonderful milky way skies, countless intriguing objects, a good, reliable meteor shower and warm nights. :)

Matt

Due to the dire light polluted skies that I have - most of my imaging is in narrowband - I don't like the spring much as it's full of galaxies.