Narrowband

Eyepieces?

I'm in the process of either purchasing a Skywatcher explorer 130p or a 150p. I'm quite new to this hobby which leads me on to my question.

I have decided on the scope, and now I need to resolve the issue of which eyepieces?. They come with 10mm & 25mm (1.25") as standard, and also a 2x Deluxe Barlow lens (on the 150p). I already own a 2x Barlow and 10mm so not worried about them as much.

The question I have is this, there is currently a deal available when purchasing either of the above scopes to get the following...

Buy ANY telescope in the Sky-Watcher range and we will give you a voucher to allow you to purchase a Sky-Watcher LER eyepiece & filter kit for a discounted price of just £69.00 a saving of 50% off the SRP £139.00

Kit Comprises: 2mm, 5mm, 15mm & 20mm Long Eye Relief Eyepieces, Four Threaded Light Filters (Amber, Blue, Neutral Grey & Moon Filter) Dual - Beam LED Night Vision Torch, Astronomical Telescope User Guide, in lockable, foam-padded Aluminium Case

Although this looks like good value, do these eyepieces sound like a good thing? I wear glasses so the Long Eye Relief is of interest (suitable for spectacle wearers is mentioned in the product description). If I am better off getting an alternative like a Super Plossl or anything else then I would rather know now before I waste my money.

Any help on this subject would be appreciated?

Regards

I've tried a few of the Skywatcher LER eyepieces and I did not think much of them, even at that price.

If you wear glasses to observe then I can see the attraction but there are much better long eye relief options available.

Why not wait until you have used your scope a bit ? - you may find you don't actually need to wear your glasses while observing then your options will be different. Either way you will have some actual observing experience which will help make the right decisions on your next kit buying.