Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

have just brought...what difference?

today i just got myself a 6mm pllosl (whatever!) eyepiece and a moon filter by celestron to go on my celestron 102 slt.what differences can i expect compared to the standard 9mm?

also what is a barlow apart from a bigger eyepiece for magnification? can i get one to use with my 6mm and will it actually make a difference or am i going the wrong way completely? i want to view the moon as close as possible without much distortion. :moon:

ben

he has edited the link. BUT im sorry people i really need to go back to school as i really dont understand anything on that website(yes im a newbie) can that not be explaned easier? if ive got a 6mm eyepiece do i need to get a barlow lense and if i do will it still be ok to view the moon which is what i want to do the closer the better?

Audio

The Plossl is a good all round eyepiece design and is very popular as it has good eye-relief (you don't have to scrunch your eye right next to the eyepiece to see anything) and also has a fairly wide field of view so spread out objects can be seen more easily.

Having 9mm and 6mm eyepieces are fine but with a barlow you may find that you are asking too much of your scope and sky to give a clear & stable image.

I would get a low power eyepiece between 25mm & 32mm which will give you a 12.5 -16mm eyepiece with the Barlow.

This will give you Low, medium and high magnifications.

Cheers

ian