Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

HEQ5 Syntrek on household power?

Hello again and thank you for your continuing help.

I plan on getting the HEQ5 Syntrek mount and using a laptop to control it. Can the mount be powered by a normal UK household powerplug? I presume it would need an adapter or transformer or something. I am not very good with my volts,amps, watts etc....I just want to run an extension lead down the back yard and not worry about powertanks and the like.

Thank you

• Replies 33
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Yes it can. But the mains are 230 Volts (and that's AC, alternating current) and your mount needs only 12V, direct current. So you need a "wall-brick" gizmo that will do the conversion.

One of these should do it, you need to set it to 12V and make sure (really!) that the polarity is correct. You do that by checking with a voltmeter (after you select the right connector for your mount).

ACDC MultiVoltage 4A Switched Mode Power Supply : Multi Voltage Power Supplies : Maplin

Cheapest option would be to look through all your electrical appliances at home. I have found 12V AC/DC 2A transformer was providing power to my old external hard disk. Works fine on my EQ5Synscan mount

I just want to run an extension lead down the back yard

Just to cover the safety issues here, please ensure that any use of mains electrictity outdoors is used with an RCD protected cable, so any dew or moisture in the system wont blow you across the garden and leave you incapacitated for the rest of the night in a cold dark lonely garden... or even kill you!

Yes, that'll do the trick. Bear in mind that all (almost) the AC-to-DC "bricks" are designed for indoor use so you'll still need to be careful when you take them outside, give them a little plastic box to sit in, don't put them on wet ground, don't let them get wet, wipe off any dew.

Great thanks everyone