Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Help with Saturn please

Good morning all,

Well, I set the alarm for 5am today so I could get an hour or so looking at Saturn. I woke up and looked outside and amazingly, it was clear! So quickly got dressed and popped the scope outside while I had a nice cuppa.

Anyway, I got outside and for the life of me I couldn't find it :) Is it visible to the naked eye? I spend the next hour and 45 minutes moving my telescope about in the region of the sky it was supposed to be in, but nothing. Does anyone have any good tips on locating it with a scope easily. As you can tell I'm very new to this (but thoroughly enjoying it!!!).

Cold and frustrated

Scott

PS I did see some nice stars and a satellite, so not a completely wasted time :D

That's a real shame you never got to see it having gone to the trouble of getting up early. I can imagine your frustration.

Unfortunately, unlike Jupiter and Venus which blaze like beacons in the sky, Saturn just blends in with the other bright stars. Alan's suggestion of Stellarium is the best bet. As a quick quide, Saturn is almost due south at 6am and 34deg above the horizon. You'll see the constellation of Leo to it's upper right. No mistaking once in the scope :)

Thanks very much for the replies, appreciate it! It was a bit frustrating (and it felt like -80 C), but I know my limitations at the moment, and having just started, I'm expecting a lot more disappointing times ahead, but practise makes perfect :)

I'll have a look at Stellarium tonight and plan for an early rise again tomorrow! I'll be in my bed by 7pm today lol Try try and try again as they say :D

I'll post a wee report once I eventually spot it!!

Thanks again

Scott