SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

First time I've ever looked at stars through some binos

Claire

and wow. I posted before Christmas how new I was to all of this, and I got some books for Christmas and I borrowed some bino's from my Grandad, and I managed to go outside (actually sat on a chair just inside my front door), and had a look at the sky.

I studied a bit of the sky and I hadn't used bino's before and had no idea what to expect to see. I'm pretty blow away. I found orion first and had a nosy at betelgeuse, then taurus (is the fact top left star a red giant too? it had a hint of red/orange about it?), and then across to pleides. wow! I mean I've seen pictures of it before, but it really doesn't prepare you for actually seeing it with your own eyes!

Then I had a look for the orion nebula (in between cloud cover that thankfully was in large areas at a time but cleared quickly), and I read up a bit on how to find the nebula. Now, I'm not sure I'm right, but where it says to find it, I saw two stars very close together and it was very fuzzy around it. Is this the nebula?

I am really pleased with how my first time stargazing went. And I'm sorry that I'm getting excited over something so obvious, but I really have had no experience and I am amazed. Especially as I was freezing, was sat inside my house at my doorway, and have an annoying streetlight just off to the side!

I'm slowly adding more constellations I can spot myself to the list, so I'm getting more and more hooked!

• Replies 50
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Aldebaran the orange star you mention in Taurus is an orange giant star. It represents the eye of the bull. To give you an idea of its size, take a look at this:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Aldebaran-Sun_comparison-en.svg

The Orion nebula is below the belt in the sword. In bins it will look like a couple of stars with a hazy fuzz around it. So it sounds like you found it.