sgl_imaging_challenge_2021_annual.thumb.jpg.3fc34f695a81b16210333189a3162ac7.jpg

new to astonomy

Hi all, Im a newbie on here and to astronomy. I might be trying to run before I can walk but here goes anyway.

I like a few other have been given a telescope for christmas. Since then its been foggy so not been out with it yet. I have however been doing a lot of reading about it and have found that the telescope I got is not a very good one :( I have a national geographic newtonian 76mm telescope. It was a christmas presant so I am unable to return it and get a different one.

I have been reading reviews and it says that I will struggle to see stuff like saturn and that. Is their anything I can do to upgrade it such as get better eye peices. I dont have lots of money so what im after is the best upgrade I can do on a budget.

Thanks for your help

Hmm...

I've never used one of those but, let's put it this way, I'd never encourage anyone to buy one. Don't waste money on it if you're serious about astronomy. Sell the thing or attempt to return it without a receipt. Try multiple stores--you can be successful this way.

Then go buy a 6" or 8" Dob. Make sure you have cash left over for a red dot sight (e.g. Telrad) and some eyepieces. Others may recommend a different scope. Do your research and decide for yourself what you want.

Hi Nffc and welcome to SGL :(

I've never used the Nat Geo scope but unfortunately they don't get very good reviews. I agree with umadog's advice to either sell or try for a refund.

A much better first instrument would be the Skywatcher 130P which can be had for between £120-£160 depending on which mount and wether you get a motorised one. It's a proper scope rather than something "toylike". See here for the various models:

Reflectors

Hope that helps :)

You could try your telescope, and see if astronomy appeals to you. If you do,

then it's best to use the lower magnification eyepiece ( the one with the highest