SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Celestron 127 slt help needed

Hi all

I have been lucky enough to have had a nextstar 127 as my chrissie pressie. :(:D:D from my wonderful wife (I knew the hints would work !!!)

Now im a total noob, and I'm not sure if I have a problem or its a quirk/feature of the scope. (and this is before I take it outside!)

The issue is when attaching the scope to the fork arm clamp.It shoiuld be easy --- one screw, one dovetail one clamp but the dovetail and clamp do not seem to align well. No matter what i do there seems to be some play/movement between the scope and the fork arm. The best fit I got did not align the scope flush to the fork arm and allowed some wobble when genlty moved by hand to test the fit.

Im sure im missing something simple but I dont know what. I've followed the manual to the letter but can't see where I'm going wrong.

advice /help please.

Get the clamp level first then place the dovetail into it so it is flat and flush to the side your resting on and bottom of the dovetail pushed up to the mount. Then tighten the screw keeping it in this position. The natural force of the screw should push it well into it's natural seating without any lateral movement.

Or could you take 3 photos so we can see the dovetail, the clamp, and then fixed together (if that doesn't work). Is the wobble coming from the joint or the mount? And is the dovetail firmly fixed to the tube (or rings).

Many thanks Brantuk. I will get photos taken and posted asap.

I read your post in reply to another slt issue where you mentioned mounting the scope as far forward as possible. After doing that, i seem to have a better fit, and from what i understand its a case of ensuring the scope is offered to the clamp quite precisley. I assumed that being adescribed as a dovetail fitting it would be a tighter fitcthan it is (uif that makes sense)