Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Hi All

sheep600fx

Hello everyone, Im completely new to astronomy and have been lurking on here for a while trying to get some basic information on where to start, I have always enjoyed viewing the moon and had my first view of Jupiter and moons through my Bino's the other night and was so chuffed I want more. I am lucky enough to live on exmoor and so have some lovely clear skies from my back garden and so its just a case of deciding what scope to get at around the £300-£400 max budget.

I think something like a (secondhand) nexstar 6se will suit me the most as its mainly planets and the moon Im interested in at this stage although a bit of DSO viewing would be nice. Also I like the goto function as I feel this will help guide me in starting to recognise the skies, But then an 8-10" Dobsonian also looks a good option with a large aperture etc and maybe will encourage me to learn the skies quicker.... Ahhh Decisions Decisions :-)

Anyway Im sure I will be boring you all with plenty of questions so thats enough for now.

Sean.

• Replies 37
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Welcome Sean, what scope is the perennial newcomers question as there are so many out there. A big dob will give better dim object images and finer planetary detail but lacks the GOTO which just saves time but dobs are easy to move. Any scope on an Equatorial Mount will enable imaging while an Alt Az mount is limiting in imaging potential. Your budget should get you a good scope/mount but remember you will need eyepieces Barlows and filters too - best of luck.

Regards, John.