Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

First Pieces of kit - Advice

Hello All,

Newcomer here - I have read all the the guides on here - Top Marks on suppling those, it quelled my urge to go out and buy a telescope which I wouldn't know how to use properly or what I would of been looking for!

I have decided to start with going the route of learning the sky before buying my first telescope. I have an eventual goal of doing deep space imaging. (a long way off, both in terms of money and skill)

With the idea that I am a beginner, and would like in the end of doing DSO imaging, I thought that it would be a good idea to do the following, but would love to have the advice of you guys as to what to do:

1) Pair of 10x50 binos to begin and a copy of turn left at orion

or

2) A spotting scope and a copy of turn left at orion. Along with a SPC880 (with the 900 firmware) and 1.25 adapter, so that I can practice imaging on the moon and planets.

This would be before moving onto a telescope in 12-16 months.

I would appreciate your thoughts and also any equipment recommendations.

Thank you in advance, and top marks on the community here!

Ditto, I'd go with 1 also, maybe a good camera tripod with a bins adapter to steady them as it can get exhausting holding bins up for long periods of time & a tripod also adds to steady the things...........in addition download Stellarium, its free!

Get to learn where things are & more importantly, what to expect to see.

I will go against the grain and suggest a small refractor like a ST80, or a 90mm makstov bins are great and all but they still leave you wanting. a 90mm mak or 80mm Frac on any astronomy mount will get you imaging with a webcam cheaply and then could serve as a guide scope in later ventures.

Second hand you could get either of these scopes for the price of a set of bins and they will show you a lot more.

:)

Welcome to SGL.

Good to see you've done some research first! but where to start.