Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

First attempt at M42

Keiran

Hi all,

this is my first attempt of M42, this is a single shot of 60 seconds @ISO400 with my new Canon 500d...

I am really pleased with what i got, but i am having trouble stacking these and pulling out the detail, but ill keep at it and see what i can do...

bulldog_keiran-albums-dso-picture7999-my-first-m42-single-shot.jpg

Keiran

Here is the final stacked version..

bulldog_keiran-albums-dso-picture8006-m42-12-30sec-iso-800-09-12-10.jpg

I've given up on DSS. It may be me and probably is, but I can never get a decent result from it. I decided to invest in Nebulosity which is a bit more involved but for me, has given better results. I tried DSS to stack an image of M42 I took on Sunday night and ended up with a mushy grey mess. I then squirted the same images through nebulosity and got a much better result.

It probably is the case that I don't understand how to use DSS properly. It may be worth you trying some other software to stack images - it worked for me.

Are you shooting in RAW ?

I had a similar problem with DSS. There was a distinct lack of colour after stacking.

I get the impression that 90% of people use DSS, but I have come to the conclusion that it just doesn't work for me. I'm no expert, but when you find something that works for you stick with it until something better comes along.

All the best

Richard

That looks a good start to me. The stacking will make a big difference.

The image that dss throws on screen always look desaturated. I think it's to do with the way it handles raw files. If you click on the saturation tab and set it to 20% you'll get an idea of the colours. When I've stacked data I embed the adjustments on save, I don't use the dss adjustments.

I agree with John above. DSS images do come out looking somewhat desaturated.

I tend not to adjust the saturation in DSS but do that instead in Photoshop afterwards.