SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Scratch on primary (8" Dobson)

Hi guys!

Well, this is my first post, and yes, this is yet another "OMG, help, my mirror is scratched/dirty"-topic and I want to apologize in advance for bothering you. However, this is my first scope and as you can imagine I'm pretty worried right now so I hope you'll understand.

Ok, now to the problem, I bought an 8" Dobson (Skywatcher) two days ago and the first thing I did was to inspect the optics ..well I'm pretty new to this so all I could do was to look at the shinny thing at the end of the tube ..and then I noticed something that had me worried, a scratch:

XlBmUs.jpg

My question is simple, should I send it back or is the size and position of the scratch still in the "green area" thus being negligible ?

Thank you for taking the time to read my post,

Johnny.

Thanks for the replies, the problem is however that I had to wait for a month to get this scope and when I finally got it, it was the only one they had ... which would translate in another month waiting time if I would demand a new one :)

Yes indeed, Germany sucks when it comes to astronomy products.

Hi Johnny, well it sure looks like a scratch, at 10 o'clock on the mirror.

But is there any chance it could be a hair or similar ?

Either way, as others have said, it won't affect the view, but it would

bother most people, so I would sort it. You will always be looking at

it, and could cause a problem if you tried to sell it.

Imagine the advert "bit of a scratch" would put many folk off.

Good luck, Ed.

Hi Johnny, well it sure looks like a scratch, at 10 o'clock on the mirror.

But is there any chance it could be a hair or similar ?

Either way, as others have said, it won't affect the view, but it would

bother most people, so I would sort it. You will always be looking at

it, and could cause a problem if you tried to sell it.

Imagine the advert "bit of a scratch" would put many folk off.