SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Alignment problems

CH

I've recently bought a Meade 105 with an 884 tripod, a really nice bit of kit but despite following instructions from the manual, various websites etc I'm having problems with the goto (autostar) side of things. I should add that I'm an absolute beginner

I've tried to put the co - ordinates of where I live in , I've also tried using the nearest city (which is miles away), I have of course set it pointing towards Polaris etc but when you ask it to align it is either a very log way out or even worse when you try to be really accurate and align it on 2 stars it sometimes tells you that they are below the horizon when they are clearly visible. When the computer selects it's own star for alignment it's again a long way out.

The equipment is I'm sure in excellent working order, I'm sure that it's the owner that's not

The time has been put in correctly (+ 2hrs gmt in my case) and I can't think of anything else I can do.

Any comments would be much appreciated

• Replies 25
  • Created
  • Last Reply

There is indeed a choice between southern and northen hemisphere in the menu's.

You should be able to put your latitude and longditude into the handset and save it.just make sure you are specifying that the long is north of the equator and the lat is set ot east of the meridian.

the time and date isnt saved and will need to be put in each tiome you power up.

to set up for alt/az use:

If yours is the earlier model without the level north technology then you need to make sure the tube is level using an alignmate and make sure its pointing north once thats done and the time/date location is in then just choose easy align and it will slew to the first alignment star. center the star in the eyepiece then choose ok and it will slew to the next, again center it and it choose ok then its done.