sgl_imaging_challenge_2021_annual.thumb.jpg.3fc34f695a81b16210333189a3162ac7.jpg

9x50 finder scope....just not sure

Had an hour or 2 thursday night with the Dob until the cloud came in, nice views of Jupitar and moon (before it got to high and made night like day) and as Orion's belt came higher i set out to find the nebular, easy to find middle star of the belt come down in a straight line middle of the next 3 stars.....yeah right, i really struggled with the finder scope, i have always used a red dot finder, easy so maybe just not use to the 9x50 for example with my eyes i can see the target when i go to use the finder to get on it it of course shows more stars and is all reversed up/down/left/right etc, i think my main problem is i'm still learning my way around the night sky and like i said just so use to a red dot, so what i'm looking at is to buy a Telrad but will this fit in the Skywatcher finder scope shoe? or do i need some sort of adapter? or can anyone give me any tips of using the 9x50?

If it is a straight through one, try keeping both eyes open when looking through it. I find it helps you in locating the brighter stars in the FOV. Assuming it is properly aligned you get the naked eye image superimposed over the view through the finder complete with crosshairs, just get the naked eye star lined up with them and it should hopefully be within the FOV.

I hope that my instructions are clear and that it helps if you aren't already trying this :)

The Telrads I've seen have been held on with a couple of strips of velcro and dob users do swear by them. A little more expensive but worth considering is a right angled correct image finder scope. I use the Orion 9x50 raci all the time with no probs and they fit directly onto a skywatcher shoe :)

Edited by brantuk

Hi Dave,

When you buy a new Telrad it comes with its own holder which you simply just stick onto the OTA with the adhesive pads.

The Telrad does not attach to the 9x50 shoe :)