Nagler T6 question

Hi,

I'm a newbie to the forum – been into stargazing for about a year now and recently upgraded from a pair of binoculars to a telescope (Skywatcher ED100), which I'm extremely happy with.

When it came to buying eyepieces I decided to adopt the approach that I would rather have one top quality eyepiece than lots of cheap or mid-price ones. With that in mind I bought an 11mm Nagler T6, of which I could find no negative comments at all on the net.

A couple of months down the line and this eyepiece both impresses and frustrates in equal measure. On the positive side, it is superbly built, and the views through it are every bit as spectacular as I was hoping. However it is extremely fussy when it comes to eye position, and I get frequent black outs - a situation seemingly exacerbated by the fact that the eye guard appears to be shallower than the eye relief – so that when your eye socket touches it you're already too close.

Do other forum members have any similar experience of this eyepiece or are blackouts with certain eyepieces very much an individual phenomenon? Perhaps viewing comfort will come with more experience in finding the correct eye position?

Thanks in advance for the advice,

Tim

• Replies 30
  • Created
  • Last Reply

To me it only happened with large widefield EPs. My Nagler 31mm T5 gave me the same problems. However I now put the eye right on place by instinct. I need to put it inline with the EP axys with my nose brushing the side, to avoid blackouts. My Ethos is much less fussy on that.

Give it another try, if you can't get along maybe you can trade it for something like a Pentax XW (top quality as well, bit smaller FoV but less fussy).

Hi Tim,