SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Another hello from Hampshire

Spectre486

Hi folks!

Good to be here finally. Been reading a lot of the forum for advice on a new hobby that's been too long in the making for me.

Loved astronomy ever since I could first read books, and probably even before then just from the pictures :)

Now finally at the tender age of 34, I have the time and a bit of money to spend to take my awe of the universe to the next level!

A bit about me :

I'm 34 like I said, married and live in Southampton. I'm a biologist/toxicologist by trade. I've spent the past 25 years playing computer games as my main hobby, so it will be good to get out into the open air again! :)

My wife is certainly happy about my new astronomical interest too, although maybe not so much when she sees my astronomical credit card bill (sorry bad joke already).

Astronomy wise......

I don't have a telescope yet. I don't even have binoculars yet. I can kinda sorta ish find my way around the sky though based upon my general interest over the years.

I've spent the past week or so with my head in web pages learning about telescopes, eyepieces and other accessories - getting more and more excited by the minute. The wife just smiles and nods at me now - she's seen it all before from when I was a PC geek hehe.

So.....after a week or so of learning about what's available, I "think" I have settled on buying a Celestron CPC 925 SCT as my first scope. A bit overkill for a beginner I hear you thinking.....but I have my reasons.

I'm still not quite sure about the eyepieces though. I contacted FLO recently and a nice gentleman called Martin gave me some helpful suggestions in general and recommmended the following eyepieces to get me started :

Skywatcher Panaview 32 or 38mm for low power

Baader Hyperion 10mm for high power.