Why take pictures? An answer.

ollypenrice

There are good reasons not to get involved in imaging. Ask your bank manager for details.

But, but, as I write this the last Ha panel of my 'All Orion' picture is coming in and will be there by breakfast time - I hope!

And this is the point; only in an image can the deep features of this favourite constellation be seen. Barnard's Loop is too large and too faint to be seen any other way. Only the naked eye could see wide enough and only the camera can see deep enough. Now someone spying on me would see a geezer staring at his computer, but they would be quite mistaken. I am staring in awe at the immensity and glory of Orion. Believe me.

However, for the Double Cluster get up to the eyepiece. Horses for courses.

Olly

• Replies 29
  • Created
  • Last Reply
only the camera can see deep enough.

Hi Olly :)

I went to talk to an elderly gentleman for some advice last year. I am a newb but was slightly sceptical about his advice…. He suggested that imaging was not a good idea. He went on to say that it would mean loads of gear - PC’s and new technology….Grab and go was the best way.

I read between the lines but when I realised that you can’t see that much without imaging… the rest is history.

I just want to add…. I wish I was in your neck of the woods, it’s always cold and wet in NW UK. I would also love to have one of your astronomy hols :D

Keep up the good work – It’s cloudy here as usual so think yourself lucky that you have clear skies :p

Best regards

Pete

Just to offer an alternative view to keep you on your toes Olly. :)