Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Complete beginner!

magic77

Just a quick hello from Snowdonia Wales....Ive not long come back from America where i visited Kennedy Space Centre.Since then ive been more interested in the night sky as it were...Ive got so many questions but dont want my first post to be too long!!....I have a keen interest in wildlife so have a good pair of Swarovski Binoculars, but ive decide i need a telescope!..I like sound of Skywatcher 200p Dob from what ive read on the forums..Few questions about this scope(its getting long isnt it!!..lol)..

1.Easy to use? Find Planets Stars etc

2.Collimation, any need to worry?

Look forward to any help i get from u experts....Im a complete beginner, i think the big white thing is the Moon!....

• Replies 28
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi Magic and welcome to the forum.

Well the big white thing might be that scope if you decide to buy it! :eek: A big virtue of the 'dob' is that it is easy to set and to find objects is just a matter of pointing it in the right direction. As this scope has no motors, no GOTO and no special gimmicks, then at least you know that your money is going into the mirror so £ per inch - its the best deal.

Collimation would not be difficult and like everything else, it appears more tricky than it actually is. Because it doesn't come with any navigational aids, finding objects comes down to a little knowledge of the constellations, a good map and perhaps a 'finder' device that is attached to the side of the tube be it a scope, telrad etc. I don't own this type of scope so I will leave this part to those who do and who can offer you the best recommendations for that.

Hope you enjoy it!

Clear skies

Hi, welcome to the forum! I have not read a post complaining about the 200p dob on this forum...

I went to the space center in Florida a few years ago. I saw the shuttle crawler inch past. The Saturn V rocket on display is awesome.