sgl_imaging_challenge_2021_2.thumb.jpg.72789c04780d7659f5b63ea05534a956.jpg

SmartGuider vs PHD

After months of getting OK results with the LVI Smartguider I thought I'd have a go at using PHD to guide. I've also setup with EQMod which is amazing but that's another topic.

On Wednesday I set out to try a few targets and not take any serious images - just push and see how well the guiding would do. So after setting up I picked IC405 and when nicely centered in the imager I took a peek at the QHY5 output and there were stars which, after a bit of focusing, were ok for guiding. I tried the calibration which failed the first time but then after tweaking the settings I was up and running in about 2 minutes. I started shooting 5 minute subs and when the first appeared the stars were, as far as I'm concerned, perfectly round. So I tried 10 minutes and had the same result. I've pushed it to 20 minutes and will try longer, just for fun, next time I'm out.

The whole experience was fantastic - compared to the anxious wait I have with the smartguider. PHD makes you feel like you're involved and can fix any issues. So no more smart guiding for me. Dummy guiding works better in my opinion. :)

This is 6 x 10min Ha(7nm) subs quickly combined in PixInsight. I'm going to go back and add RG&B next.

post-20393-133877495308_thumb.jpg

Edited by mark7331
spelling errors

Glad it worked for you, I was playing around with it the other night, as I wanted to muck around with the options. Nice image BTW.

Nadeem.

Edited by Deneb

Cheers Nadeem :( That means a lot to me.

Have you used the log feature in PHD - I turned it on as a matter of course and yesterday played with PECPrep. It read the log straight in! Really cool. Thankfully my PEC errors appear to be tiny. Phew!:)