Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Newbee with no cluebee

binarymizar

Hi all, just a quickie to introduce myself, another pain in the butt for all you experienced guys and gals.

The name`s Alistair, 45 from Salisbury Wilts, and although I`ve been interested in astronomy for ages (well, I watch Sky at Night....) I`ve only just taken the plunge and forked out Visas money on a `scope. After MUCH deliberation and searching forums, reviews etc, I decided on the Skywatcher Explorer 200mm newt/ EQ5, which seemed to be identical to the Celestron C8N, except you get an extra EP thrown in with the SW for about the same price.

Just can`t WAIT for it to arrive, tho` the forecast is rubbish for the next few days... :D

I think I`m going to splash out on the EP set that OVL are doing for £70 at the moment, and also the dual drive for the EQ5, unless anyone has better (i.e. cheaper) ideas?

• Replies 30
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi there and welcome to SGL. I am also a newb having only got my first 'scope (200mm Newt) a few weeks ago. With a scope that size you can see some amazing things and the guys/gals here are very friendly, and always give good advice.

Thanks for the warm welcome guys. Originally I was gonna go for one of the eBay Sebens (see? Not a cluebee...) but then I thought, HOLD ON! DO SOME RESEARCH! And I`m glad I did. Eventually it was a toss up between the SkyW or the Celestron C8N and after finding out they were identical, the slight price difference with the SkyW (plus the fact they throw in an extra EP) swayed me.

All I need now is clear skies... :D

Ali

Hi Alistair

Another newbie here to welcome you.

.... just taken the plunge and forked out Visas money on a `scope.

Trouble is Visa have a very annoying habit of wanting it all back - most inconsiderate of them! :D

Hope the skies clear and you can enjoy your new 'scope soon.

Andy.

Welcome to the forum...