sgl_imaging_challenge_2021_2.thumb.jpg.72789c04780d7659f5b63ea05534a956.jpg

Hi there

Apologies if this should be in the 'Observing' section but seeing as I'm new to this I thought this section would be appropiate.

I'm getting my first telescope soon and have been out and about with my binoculars recently trying to find some good dark sites nearby. I live close to a large town (Banbury) so would like to get into the countryside to get the best from my new scope. But what do people generally do? Park on the side of the road and set up in a field? Find a local country park and go there? Or just walk from your house until you're away from all the light? The trouble I see is that wandering around fields in the middle of the night makes you look as if you're up to no good!

Any help you guys have will be greatly appreciated.

Usually I just stay in my backyard. It's much easier to pop the scope from the garage and do a little observing.

When I do move (only when the weather forecast is excellent) I use a few tourist-landscape-observation-spots (I'm sure there's a proper word for these in English) in dark areas, by the road. That way access is easy (I don't want to fall and damage my gear) and the places are usually a bit high in altitude which helps as you have a bit less atmosphere above and so the seeing conditions improve (less shimmering).

I agree with the idea of finding a local observing group or contacting a local astro club to see if you can locate any possible sites.

I wouldn't advise wandering around fields but if you can spot a good location during the day, go to the nearest village and see if you can locate the farmer who owns the land and in person, make contact with them to see if they can help you - they might know a better spot. This is what I have done on several occasions as its good to have more than one location!