740427863_Terminatorchallenge.jpg.2f4cb93182b2ce715fac5aa75b0503c8.jpg

Christmas is coming, what to get next

nowayjose256

Complete newbie here (so please be gentle).

Just got my first telescope, an explorer 200p (Eq5) a few weeks ago and I am completely pleased with it so far.

With Christmas coming I was wondering what gadets or upgrades to go for next.

I'm guessing that the eyepieces that came with it are pretty basic. Is that the best thing to improve first or is there anything else I should consider?.

Thanks in advance.

Nwj.

I have a 200P, was on a EQ5 but now on a Dob base, and one of the best things ive got for it, so far, is a Telrad finder - makes, er, finding objects a lot easier I find!

Maybe also a good wide field eyepiece, I use a Sky-Watcher Panavison 32mm in my 200P and I think it gives wonderful views of the skies!

Some good books on astronomy are always going to be useful too - Turn Left At Orion, or Nightwatch are both well worth getting!

Hope this gives you a few ideas!

Doc

My suggestions would be:

A decent Star Map/Atlas to help locate objects quicker (I use Star Atlas 2000 which is expensive but Norton's are very good)

Astro Engineering do two very good products:

Red Alerts - These are flashing red LED's that sit on top of a battery (the type that you use for very small tranisistor radios) they flash twice a second, come in packs of three and are designed to be attached to each tripod leg via velcro so as you (or family!!!) don't bump into the mount when its dark. To be honest you can attach them to any piece of kit that you might be using in the dark.