Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Don't try this at home update 1

Hi Everyone

For those who were following the "Don't try this at home" thread.

I received my sample from ABM today. With no further a do I set to putting it under demanding and otherwise none normal conditions.

PLEASE NOTE: All tests were carried out on the ABM sample Self Adhesive Flock Material and had not been vacumed (not recommended) or lint rollered to remove any dust or excess fiber from manufacture. The tests were intended to find a more UK cost effctive alternetive to importing Protostar flocking paper. As I have had no experience with using Protostar flocking I cannot comment on there product other than from imformation found on their website Protostar Telescope Making & Upgrading.

Protostar web site recommends after installation of their product that the material be cleaned with a lint roller to remove any excess fibers due to manufacture. I assume this would be the same case with ABM flocking paper but for the perpose of my test I wanted to establish the absolute worst any shedding could be.

1) A high concern was the durability of the adhesive to stay stuck to the inside of the telescope wall. The test was for the self ahesive grabbing power of the backing.Although any kind of ahesive require some effort to be detached from a large surface area, the weak points are often the edges. In attempt to test the adhesiveness of the edges I stuck the sample to my hand and peeled several times to allow the skins natural oils and grease to contaminate and weaken the adhesive takiness. I then applying light pressure over the material attached it to a A5 diary 391g. VERDICT: The kind of lateral foces placed on the sample should not be encountered at any point under normal use but the adhesive was able to comfortably hold the diary even though some tackiness had been lost 9/10